Beware My Forklift Prowess

My results from the BBC Careers Test

“Realistic

Your results suggest that Realistic type work might suit your interests and preferences.

Realistic types generally prefer action to words, they like physical activity and may prefer working with things to working with people. They tend to favour jobs where they can work with their hands or produce things, and often like outdoor work. Typical roles that suit Realistic types are gardener, mechanic, driver, electrician, farmer, sportsperson, skilled trades, labourers and some engineering and military roles.

Enterprising

Your results suggest that Enterprising type work is less likely to suit your interests.

Enterprising types like persuading and influencing people as well as controlling, managing and selling to them. They like to take a lead and are often quite motivated and ambitious but may be impatient and can find rules and detail frustrating. They tend to favour roles such as salesperson, manager, estate agent, supervisor, lawyer, advertising or marketing executive and often like positions that have status and prestige.

Investigative

Your results suggest that Investigative type work is less likely to suit your interests.

Investigative types prefer thinking to action, they like working with information and may prefer working with ideas rather than with people. They tend to like jobs in which they can research, analyse and solve problems (or come up with new problems!) and prefer using their brains to their interpersonal skills. Typical roles that suit Investigative types are scientist, engineer, laboratory worker, computer programmer, pharmacist and vet.”

 

Challenging words I faced


– Enterprising: After looking it up, it actually had nothing to do with that ship from Star Trek. Turns out it means something like your will to work in a company (probably in a small one, where there are more things at risk.)

– Questionnaire: Alright, I really hadn’t seen this word in use almost ever before. I did feel like it meant “quiz”, or something of that sort, I swear. I got it fairly close; it’s basically a sheet with questions that you have to answer.

My analysis of the results

The results definitely say that I’d be suited to be an electrician, or perhaps a labourer just like in the ancient Egypt. I feel that I answered to the questions a bit wrongly. Things like these don’t really require all that much studying, which is unfortunately something I am actually willing to do. I always thought I may as well educate myself properly, since I am quite unsure of what profession I would pick in the future. I’m just waiting for the right moment.

I hope that I could find a profession that I enjoy, hopefully one with a decent salary and something that allows me to do work at home occasionally, since I feel I get quite a lot done when I’m in the right mood during the day, and I only manage to get myself angry if I have to force myself to do something. It’d also be an excellent plus if the work didn’t drain all my time and willpower.

The professions the results suggested me seem to favour physical work. Probably due to the fact that to every question related to searching information or socializing in questionnaire I answered “Let somebody else do it.” Which is the result of being the lazy bastard I am. Now, I would actually enjoy to do something that requires some thinking; not too much of it, but it’s better than just lifting a seemingly endless tower of boxes with some rusted forklift in a dusty warehouse all my miserable life.

I believe my assets are my moderate skills in English and perhaps some manner of nerdery, (I don’t think that’s a real word, by the way.) which are both the result of me spending an unhealthy 25 hours a day on the computer. Luckily, I also do a lot of great deal of monologue when I’m alone at home, which has improved my speaking talents (but not my sanity), so I think I could do quite well in a job the requires me to occasionally present various things, or as a representative of some kind, or perhaps even as a chairman in a conference. What can I say, I am pretty naive for thinking so highly of myself.

In the end, I really don’t see myself in any simple sort of physical work, as that would probably just start depressing me over time. I feel that long and repetitive days at work don’t just suit me very well, except perhaps in doses of one month at a time, if I am very desperately in a need of money. I will find a job that interests me eventually, that I am sure of.

Plans for future education

If I could choose one of those universities, I’d definitely pick Oxford. I mean, you hear about Oxford nearly everywhere, in the movies, books and so forth; all the pros always educated in the one and only University of Oxford. I would probably pick either English Literature or perhaps History as my main subject, for I’ve recently been fairly interested in writing and reading to some extent.  Minor subjects I may pick up are Computer Science and various other things of the same sort, due to being this massive nerd I am.

 By Mikko.

2 thoughts on “Beware My Forklift Prowess

  1. Grammar: Excellent
    – in __ anciet Egypt (no article for countries except if they are in plural THE United States of America)
    – I WILL enjoy (the future tense)
    – suggested FOR me- I do A GREAT DEAL of monologue

    Contents: Excellent
    Amazing self-reflection, you show no mercy to yourself and do it with a good sense of humor! I think the majors you picked from the University of Oxford would suit your perfectly. Anything you set yuor mind on you can achieve!

  2. hey Mikko,
    I think you did a really good job on this blog task. I was especially impressed by the extended vocabulary you used, which makes the whole story a lot more interesting to read. You made a small mistake on the grammar ‘I hope I could find’ is grammatically right, but in this context I think it’s better if you used ‘I hope I can find’. But that’s actually everything I could find. ‘Nerdery’ is indeed not a real word, but you could just use for example ‘being like a nerd’, or ‘acting like a snob’ or something. But using the word ‘nerdery’ was a really good alternative when you didn’t know how to say it otherwise :).
    The content was also really good in my opinion. You tell a lot of different things about yourself and about what you’re thinking about your future. Your writing is really fluent which makes your text easy to understand. The only thing I had problems with, was your explanation of the challenging words. It’s really original to tell what you thought it meant, and what it really means, but maybe you should make sure that it is clear which is the real explanation and which is your own thought,
    But in general, I would say that your blog text is definitively successful. Great vocabulary use, interesting story, a nice content and a fluent writing style. 🙂

Leave a comment